Scrambled Eggs

If you read my previous post from yesterday, you know that I was gifted four big, marvelous duck eggs…that I had NO CLUE what to do with.

Well, as you can already tell from the title, I scrambled one for breakfast!  My husband insisted that he would NOT be eating anything to do with duck eggs…and swore I was going to try and sneak it into his breakfast somehow!

Haha…even though I thought about it, I gave him 2 over easy chicken eggs 🙂

I was so curious to see what the duck eggs would taste like, yet a little apprehensive.  I cracked one duck egg in a bowl along with one chicken egg…and look at the difference!

yolks

smaller chicken egg with larger duck egg

I mixed them together and scrambled them in a pan with cooking spray, serving them with some potato latkes that I got from Trader Joes.

scrambled

Sooo…duck eggs…taste…surprisingly…like………………..chicken eggs!

Maybe since I mixed the duck egg with a chicken egg the taste was diluted, but it tasted very close to regular eggs to me!  It did have a slightly richer, almost more flavorful taste, and when I mixed them, it looked more creamy.  My husband even wanted to try it after he saw me eating them.  He agreed that the duck egg tastes very close to chicken eggs, and even said he would eat it again!

Maybe next time I will try something more creative…

Here’s to eating outside of the box!  If you don’t try it, you’ll never know!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

